All supporting documentation, including transcripts, becomes the property of the Commission when
submitted and will not be returned. The Commission does not maintain a file of all supporting
materials sent with every application. Educators should retain a copy of each application and the
related supporting materials submitted to the Commission for reference.
Please refer to the Commission’s fee schedule (Credential Leaflet CL-659) to determine the amount
due. Application fees may be paid by check or money order, made payable to the Commission on
Teacher Credentialing or CTC. Do not send cash. A service charge of $20 will be assessed for a
check that does not clear the bank and your credential may be voided until all fees due are
paid in full. If you are applying through a county office of education or school district office, you may
be asked to make the check payable to that agency so that they can submit a single check to the
Commission for all of their applicants. Applications submitted without the appropriate payment
will not be processed and will be returned.
Your application and fee remain valid for sixty (60) days (Reference: Title 5, California Code of
Regulations, section 80487). Application fees are earned upon receipt and are not refundable. If
you do not qualify for the credential type originally applied for, the fee cannot be used to apply for
another credential type. If requirements for a document are met after the initial submission of an
application, a new application and fee will be required.
If this is your first application for a credential, certificate, or permit, you must provide verification that
you have completed fingerprint processing. California residents must complete the electronic
Live Scan process and do not have the option of submitting fingerprint cards. Individuals
applying for their first credential who reside outside California must submit with their application
packet two fingerprint cards (FD-258) and the additional fingerprint processing fees. A copy of the
Live Scan form (Form 41-LS) may be downloaded from the Commission’s website. Please see
Credential Leaflet CL-271 for more information on fingerprint processing.
Applications are processed in the date order in which they are received. Commission staff cannot
search for pending applications or process applications out of order. You may check your application
status online using the Educator Login to find the date it was received by the Commission. Click here
for the current processing date.
Current law sets a maximum processing time for the evaluation of applications of 50 business days
after the Commission receives a completed application. Applications delayed for completion of a
fitness review or fingerprint processing are not subject to the 50-day restriction. Please wait until the
maximum processing time has passed before contacting the Commission regarding your
Following the submission of the application, fee, and supporting materials, the application will be
evaluated to verify eligibility for the document requested. If you receive a letter requesting additional
information to complete your application (it may or may not be accompanied by your original
application), you must attach the requested documentation to the Commission’s letter and resubmit
all items by postal mail within 60 days of the date on the Commission’s letter or a new application and
fee will be required. If your application was also returned for correction, you must return the original
application along with any corrections submitted.
41-4 INSTRUCTIONS 6/2019 PAGE 4 of 5